New Senior Pastor Call Process

The Call Committee will be meeting in the next several weeks to resume the process of identifying the pastor whom God intends to be our new senior pastor.  The first step in that process is to secure nominations of potential candidates from the congregation.  Both below and in the narthex of the church, you will find a ministry description for our new senior pastor and pastoral nomination forms. 

All members of Timothy have the opportunity to nominate or re-nominate LCMS pastors whom they feel meet the ministry description. Even if you submitted a nomination last spring, you should resubmit that name if you prayerfully believe that he fits our ministry description. 

Once you have finished the form, you may place it in the box on the bulletin board or turn it in to the church office.  Nominations will be accepted through Sunday, December 17.  Those nominations, along with those from the Call Committee, will be turned in to President Hagan of the Missouri District, who will vet those nominees as well as those whom he has identified.  Hopefully, by mid-January, the Call Committee will be able to begin screening approved nominees to evaluate their fit with Timothy’s needs.




The Call Committee has summarized pastoral profile forms completed by Timothy’s lay leaders—Elders, Council members, and the Call Committee. Those forms have helped the Committee identify some key characteristics and skills that we will look for. The following were rated highly, with a great deal of agreement among the congregation’s leaders:

Personal Characteristics:                     Pastor Skills:

Leadership                                               Preaching content

People Skills                                            Preaching delivery

Patience                                                  Teaching ability

Tact                                                        Worship development/leadership

Cooperation                                            Lay leadership development



Ministry Description-Senior Pastor of Timothy

The Senior Pastor provides spiritual leadership to the congregation as he promotes the vision of the congregation, a culturally diverse St. Louis City church serving as a bold witness to the saving grace of God through Jesus. He guides, actively participates in and evaluates the implementation of its mission, leading us in

i. creating a spirit of acc

eptance that welcomes, respects, and cares for the needs of all;

ii. creating unity of a shared faith in Jesus Christ, while embracing the diversity reflected in the beauty of God’s creation;

iii. authentic worship rooted in solid Biblical preaching and teaching, with the proper distinction made between Law and Gospel, and the right administration of the sacraments, all in accordance with the Lutheran Confessions.

iv. equipping, training, and preparing God’s people to use their gifts, abilities, and resources to serve those around them in their everyday lives and sharing Jesus with those who don’t know him.

He works directly and in harmony with the Board of Elders to ensure that the spiritual welfare of the congregation is maintained through its worship life, the preaching of the Word, and the administration of the Sacraments. He provides administrative leadership, organization and direction of the ministry team, and is responsible for its evaluation. He collaborates with Word of Life School and other community organizations and church agencies. He is accountable to the Board of Elders and Church Council and reports to the Voters Assembly.



Members of the Timothy Call Committee

Elders: John Hagan, Cyril Loum, Brian Rush

Council Members: Ed Ewertowski, Judith Meyer (Chair), Ted Wuerffel

At Large Members: Jennifer Ebeling, Terri Myers, Tim Saleska

Missouri District Advisor: Pastor Terry Weinhold